• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 JJH

JJH
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 November 2015 - 06:28 AM

To whom it may concern:

I am posting to this forum in the interest of procuring a firefighter exchange with a member of an Irish fire department. I have the full support of my department, head office and union in obtaining a yearlong exchange in Ireland.

I am a firefighter with the City of Victoria in British Columbia, Canada and have been with the department as a full time firefighter since November, 2002. I am trained in fire/rescue, marine operations (including swift water rescue certification, shipboard firefighting and fireboat operator), auto extrication and I am a high angle and confined space rescue instructor as well as being a trained first responder (non-paramedic so not sure how suitable Dublin would be). Prior to working structural fire I worked for six years as a wildland firefighter with the Ministry of Forests. The Victoria Fire Department has 123 personnel working out of three fire stations and a marine unit with two fire rescue boats. We work a four on/ four off rotation consisting of two 10 hour day shifts, two 14 hour night shifts followed by four days off.

The city of Victoria is located on the southern tip of Vancouver Island and is a destination of choice for its temperate climate, natural beauty and world renowned recreational sites. Vancouver Island is one of the few places in the world that you can golf, ski, surf and sail in the same day and is a great jumping off spot to explore the rest of Canada and US.